OBSOLETE – Premiere New Song: “The Atrophy of Will”

Heavy Blog Is Heavy has premiered “The Atrophy of Will,” a song from forthcoming album Animate//Isolate by Death Thrashers OBSOLETE!
“The Atrophy of Will” (Exclusive Premiere)
“One of death metal’s most face-meltingly delicious releases in 2021.”
– Heavy Blog is Heavy
“Animate//Isolate is the must-hear metal album of the year so far!”
– Skull Fracturing Metal
Unspeakable Axe Records will release Animate//Isolate, the new album from Death Thrashers OBSOLETE, April 19 on CD and cassette. Pre-orders available on Bandcamp and the UAR Store.
For a certain type of metal purist, extremity is defined not by blast beats and bowel-bothering growls, but by how fast a band can sand your face off with a riff that is both instantly memorable, and so intricate and alien that you can’t begin to understand how to play it on a lowly human guitar. By that metric, OBSOLETE may be that certain purist’s favorite band.
Every riff here is fine-tuned for maximum cerebral carnage. Why play a normal scale in a normal way at a normal speed, when you can play a bizarre, upside-down bit of nightmare logic at warp 9? Somehow OBSOLETE is able to bang out riff after riff in this style all over their new album Animate//Isolate. Just as impressively, they string them together into comprehensible structures and memorable songs–a collision of head-bangable death/thrashing goodness and advanced technicality encountered only occasionally in such predecessor bands as SADUS and demo-era CYNIC. Adding in occasional splashes of black metal and avant-death dissonance, OBSOLETE manages to craft a debut album that stands apart from the crowd without resorting to gimmicks or unlistenable experimentation.
With Animate//Isolate, OBSOLETE have put together one hell of a first salvo. Nine tracks deep and bristling with ideas and hyperactive energy, this is a death/thrash album that any fan of either genre should hear.
Track Listing:
3. The Slough
4. Old Horizon
5. Silent Freeway
6. Stumbling and Listless
7. The Fog
8. Callousness of Soul
9. Intercostal